Interview Babusi Nyoni

InterviewI’m a curious Zimbabwean spirit, born on the 28th of February 1988 and I’m a believer in the need to push design boundaries. I’m a self-taught artist and I’ve been drawing for as long as I can remember.

At first glance one can’t immediately ascertain what my field of interest is. My portfolio has work ranging from illustration, photography, 3D imagery, industrial design and lots more. The reason for this is not that I’m trying to have my finger in every pie but rather, because I didn’t receive any formal training on the subject of art, I am able to apply my thoughts across every medium I have mastered. It is very frustrating to not be able to express yourself because of the limits of your capabilities and so I encourage emerging artists to never stop being curious, to always want to know how things work.

ecff564f97279239e7c80d023e7b3207

My inspiration comes from something I call “Zimcentricism” which is the personal belief that all art in the world is influenced by what we, as Zimbabwean artists, do. This of course is not essentially true but in a world where cultures interlink and ideas are communal property as a result of the internet it is very important that what artists create has an identity that is original and is a sincere translation of where we come from and where we are going. All art must have its own unique mark.

I’m currently based in Cape Town, South Africa where I work as an art director in a brilliant, quaint, successful agency.

Acesse: http://www.behance.net/babusinyoni

Deixe uma resposta

